Student and Alum News 2015

MFA in Writing for Screen and Stage alum Ethan Kass (MFA class of ’12) has been staffed on TNT’s Murder in the First.

“Time Difference” by current MFA Lin Tu (MFA class of ‘16) premiered at Aspen’s acclaimed Theater Masters’ ninth annual TAKE TEN: NATIONAL MFA PLAYWRIGHTS FESTIVAL. Her experience with the festival was an incredible journey, opening her the broad, wondrous theatre world. “Theater Masters” led to productions in Aspen and New York with professional directors and actors; panel discussions and local TV interviews; meetings with people from agencies, organizations, and publishing houses; conversations with an acclaimed artistic director and actress among seven other talented playwrights; and a publication of the collection of the festival’s short plays.

Sara Accuardi’s (MFA class of ‘09) play was chosen for this year’s Seven Devils Playwrights Conference.

Nayna Agrawal (MFA class of ‘15) joined Grey’s Anatomy as a writer’s P.A. in May. In September, she performed her selected short fiction piece “Envy and Tuberculosis” at the Zephyr Theater in Los Angeles. She was recently awarded a three-month writing residency in France, funded in part by the Tenot Foundation.

Erin Austin (MFA class of ‘13) won the 2015 Red Theater Playwriting Competition for her play “Insert Heart Here.”

Carrie Barrett’s (MFA class of ‘08) short film OPEN HOUSE was just selected as the winner of the Los Angeles Film Festival/ Funny or Die Make ‘Em LAFF Showcase. It was directed by fellow Northwestern MFA graduate Marisha Mukerjee with help from fellow MFA graduate Lauren Bennett. She is also one of five playwrights chosen for the Humanitas/CTG PLAY LA Workshop.

Gabrielle Fulton (MFA class of ‘10), whose play “Uprising” at Horizon Theatre Company received 4 nominations for the Suzi Bass Awards in Atlanta, including Outstanding World Premiere. “Uprising” was also part of Women’s Voices Festivals in DC.

Sarah Gubbins’ (MFA class of ‘08) play Cocked is featured as one of six new plays to debut Off-Broadway, produced by The Atlantic Theater Company and premiered at Victory Gardens in the spring.

Stephanie Kornick (MFA class of ‘10) is a writer’s assistant on Transparent.

Jenni Lamb (MFA class of ‘12) has been named as a member of the Goodman Theatre’s 2016 Playwrights Unit. It’s the Goodman’s sixth iteration of the Playwrights Unit and their first all-female group. She is also the inaugural winner of Route 66 Theater Company’s New Play Development Workshop.

Marisha Mukerjee (MFA class of ’11) has joined the writing staff of NBC’s Heroes: Reborn

Eoghan O’Donnell (MFA class of ’09) wrapped his CW show The Messengers, where he served as showrunner and producer. He has been hired as the co-executive producer for the second season of MTV’s Scream TV series.

Milta Ortiz (MFA class of ‘12) received a stunning review for her play “Más” performed at Borderlands Theatre.

Jen Spyra (MFA class of ‘12) is part of the writing staff of The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, which has been nominated for best Comedy/Variety Series by the Writer’s Guild of America.

Shannon Pritchard’s (MFA class of ‘14) play “Traces” premiered at Jackalope Theatre Company in Chicago this past March, as the inaugural production in their Pioneer series. Her play “Practice Babies” received a staged reading at TimeLine Theatre in April as part of their TimePieces series.

MFA alumnae Milta Ortiz, Meridith Friedman, Sarah Gubbins and Jenni Lamb made The Kilroys List and Honorable Mentions this year.

December 21, 2015