Skip to main content

School of Communication Alumni Are Ready for Primetime: 2018 Emmy Nominees

Stephen Colbert

Megan Mullally

The 70th Annual Primetime Emmy Award nominations were announced July 12, and the list of hopefuls has us seeing purple.

The following School alumni have received nominations:

  • Stephen Colbert (C86, H11), of the eponymous The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, for the Outstanding Variety or Talk Series award. Jen Spyra (GC12) is a writer for the show; both were nominated for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series. These nominations bring his tally up to 32. He’s won nine Emmys.
  • Megan Mullally (C81) for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Will & Grace.
  • Seth Meyers (C96, H16), Jenny Hagel (GC09), and Allison Hord (C05) for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series, for Late Night with Seth Meyers. This is Meyers’ 19th nomination (he’s had one win).
  • Ashley Nicole Black (GC08) and Nicole Silverberg (C13), writers for Full Frontal with Samantha Bee, nominated for Outstanding Variety Talk Series, Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series, and Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special (“The Great American* Puerto Rico: *It’s Complicated”).

Two additional nominated shows have significant School of Communication ties: Outstanding Drama contender HBO’s Westworld, for which Richard J. Lewis (C83) is an executive producer; and Jimmy Kimmel Live!  for Outstanding Variety Talk Series, for which Jill Leiderman (C93) is executive producer.

Missing this year is legendary Emmy juggernaut Julia Louis-Dreyfus, whose hit HBO series Veep is on hiatus. She secured last year her status in the record books with a sixth consecutive Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series win for her role as Selina Meyer in Veep. She has won 11 Emmys overall, eight in acting categories. She is now tied with School of Communication alumna Cloris Leachman (C48, H14) for most wins by a female performer.

Many more School of Communication alumni are working on, with, and for Emmy-nominated programming. Congratulations to each and every one of our talented and accomplished Northwestern graduates in the creative arts and entertainment industry.

The awards show will air September 17 at 8 p.m. Eastern on NBC.