Skip to main content

Julia Louis-Dreyfus’s Emmy Record

Northwestern School of Communication alumna Julia Louis-Dreyfus (C83, H07) smashed yet another record September 18 with a historic win at the 68th Annual Emmy Awards.

Credit: Lacey Terrell/HBO

Louis-Dreyfus nabbed her sixth Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series award, and her fifth in a row playing President Selina Meyer on HBO’s Veep. She was previously tied with Mary Tyler Moore (The Dick Van Dyke Show; The Mary Tyler Moore Show) and Candace Bergen (Murphy Brown) for most Outstanding Lead Actress wins at five apiece. Louis-Dreyfus’s Sunday night victory elevated her to legendary status both for overall Outstanding Actress wins, as well as for wins in a row, thus eclipsing Helen Hunt’s four awards for Mad About You.

Louis-Dreyfus won the Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Emmy for the first time in 2006 as the titular character on The New Adventures of Old Christine, and earned a supporting actress award in 1996 for her work as Elaine on Seinfeld. At seven overall wins, she is now tied with Mary Tyler Moore and Allison Janney for most Emmys won by a female performer. The record, eight wins, is held by fellow School of Communication alumna Cloris Leachman (C48, H14).

Veep took home the Outstanding Comedy Series award for the second consecutive year. Louis-Dreyfus is an executive producer of the series.

Louis-Dreyfus was an odds-on favorite to win, as she’s roundly considered one of television’s all-time best comedic actors. She has received 22 Emmy nominations over the course of her career, including producing credits. In 2013 Louis-Dreyfus made waves when she surpassed Lucille Ball’s record of thirteen acting nominations. Louis-Dreyfus now has a total of 17 nominations as a performer.

In a funny and moving acceptance speech, she dedicated her award to her father, Gerard Louis-Dreyfus, who had passed away just two days earlier.

The evening’s biggest winners were Game of Thrones — based on novels by Medill alumnus George R.R. Martin (J70; GJ71) —and The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story. The latter took home a number of awards including Outstanding Limited Series. David Schwimmer (C88) played Robert Kardashian on the FX show and received an Outstanding Supporting Actor nomination for his performance.

School of Communication alumni received a number of nominations for 2016 Emmy Awards.

Additionally, alumni were represented at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards, held on September 10 and 11. A big winner was Grease: Live!, which won Outstanding Special Class Program; Outstanding Lighting Design/Direction for a Variety Special; Outstanding Production Design for A Variety, Nonfiction, Event or Awards Special; and Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Limited Series, Movie or Special. Kenneth Ferrone (C04) was co-producer of the special, Carrie Havel (C98) was its associate director, and Michelle Pollack (C97) acted as a creative consultant. Ana Gasteyer (C89) played Principal McGee in the Fox special.

David Zucker (C86) is executive producer of The Man in the High Castle, winner of Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series and Outstanding Main Title Design.