Skip to main content

Alumni garner Emmy Award recognition ahead of Sept. 20 telecast

The 67th annual Emmy Awards will be a big night for a few Northwestern School of Communication alumni. A handful of alumni working in television received nominations on July 16—and might take home a statuette during the live simulcast on September 20.

Among the nominees:

  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus (C83, H07), for HBO’s Veep, for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series. Veep is also nominated as Outstanding Comedy Series; Louis-Dreyfus is a producer of the show. This is her 20th Emmy Award nomination; she has won five.
  • Stephen Colbert (C86, H11), for Comedy Central’s The Colbert Report, nominated for Outstanding Variety Talk Series and for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series. The show has received 41 Emmy Award nominations and won six in its history. This is the show’s last season.
  • Denis O’hare (C84), for FX’s American Horror Story: Freak Show, for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or a Movie. O’hare was previously nominated for the same award for the original American Horror Story in 2012.
  • ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live, of which Jill Leiderman (C93) serves as executive producer, nominated for Outstanding Variety Talk Series. The show has been nominated for 21 Emmy Awards, winning three.
  • Seth Meyers (C96), nominated twice for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special for special material written for The 72nd Annual Golden Globe Awards and for The Saturday Night Live 40th Anniversary Special, both for NBC. Meyers won an Emmy Award in 2011 for lyrics he wrote as head writer for Saturday Night Live.
  • Billy Eichner (C00), executive producer of Billy on the Street with First Lady Michelle Obama, nominated for Outstanding Short-Format Live-Action Entertainment Program. Eichner participated in last year’s telecast with a special Emmy edition “Billy on the Street” with host Seth Meyers.