Skip to main content

Emmy nights

The 65th annual Emmy Awards quickly turned into a winning night for Northwestern when three School of Communication alumni took home statuettes.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus (C83) took home her fourth Emmy as Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series for her work in HBO’s Veep. Louis-Dreyfus entered this Emmy race already a winner, after receiving her 14th lifetime Emmy nomination and breaking Lucille Ball’s longstanding record.

Stephen Colbert (C86) left the awards ceremony with an Emmy in both fists. He won a statuette for Outstanding Variety Series for The Colbert Report, of which he is the host and executive producer, and another for the writing of the show, along with his writing team.

Anna Gunn (C90)
won her first Emmy for her work in the AMC series Breaking Bad. She won Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for her role as Skylar White, a role for which she’s received both accolades and, she says, hate mail.

Among the other nominees—some of them competing against one another—were Jill Leiderman (C93) as the executive producer of Jimmy Kimmel Live; Greg Berlanti (C94) as the executive producer of Political Animals; Seth Meyers (C96) as a writer for Saturday Night Live and its special programming and as a writer for last year’s Golden Globe Awards; Jon Michaels (C96), as sound editor for the Rolling Stones documentary Crossfire Hurricane; and Maria Ferrari (C01), as a member of the writing team for The Big Bang Theory. Medill alumnus George R.R. Martin (J70, GJ71) was also among the nominees, for the HBO series based on his series of books, Game of Thrones.